July 16, 2011

  • motherhoood

    EDIT: One of the biggest challenges for me as a parent is not knowing exactly what to do. I assume this is a universal challenge as I can't imagine that any parent hasn't questioned themselves at some point or another. Right now Freya has developed a new sleeping issue ... it just popped right up, out of the blue. I'm thankful to have other moms in my life that I can go to and trust. I received some much needed reassurance and encouragement from two peers recently and it's really boosted my confidence regarding how we're handling this new um, sleeping roadblock. One thing I've appreciated about the online social world is the glimpses I've been able to take into other moms' lives. Just the other day my nieghbor wrote about taking her boys to the lake only to leave with them crying as soon as she got there. A friend from college wrote about taking her two young girls and baby boy (she's pregnant with her fourth) out to run errands while the baby screamed the entire time. She ended her post with, "this is why I'm never leaving the house again!". These examples help me feel normal. Not every day is perfect. I can't take things too seriously. There are bumps in the road and these bumps are to be expected.
    Last week I made a personal commitment to change my attitude about some of my responsibilities as a wife and mother. I began looking at the late-night laundry folding and the endless outpouring of my self as a gift instead of an inconvience. I was falling into a rut and needed to pull myself out.
    You know why I choose to fold the laundry instead of going to bed when I'm so tired I feel like my head weighs a thousand pounds? Because I love these people. You know why I don't get bent out of shape when naptime is interrupted by a poopy blowout meaning the project I was working out has to be, yet again, put aside? Because I love these people. I could on and on, but the point is ... I love these people. That means I not only give and give and give and giiiiiive, but I give willingly, with a loving heart and a selfless attitude. This past week I have noticed that the more I gave with a servant's heart, the more blessings I received.
    I mentioned a few days ago that I'm making my world smaller and it's really helped. Back in the day families had less distractions, less clutter in their lives. They had a phone on the wall and a few channels on the tv. These days I feel like our families are under attack by the distractions ... Facebook, texting, chat, 4,000 channels on the tv and a dvr filled for days, so on and so on. We've been weeding out the distractions in our house (in a realistic way) and narrowing our focus on each other. This family consists of the people I love most ... they deserve an undistracted me. I'm the only wife and mom they have. I play a major role in setting the tone in our house and I want our house to be respectful, loving, focused, joyful, godly and full of life. So, no pressure or anything ;)

    On to the pics ...

    We got my parents a little fire pit for their anniversary and tested it out a few weeks ago. Works great ... the s'mores were tasty.

    Nate


    Serena and my Dad in the s'mores eating pose


    My Mom and Mazie




    I like my marshmallows burnt, baby


    Mazie, trying to figure out how to not get all sticky :)










Recent Posts

Categories