July 3, 2011

  • A few years ago, when Nate lived in Illinois and I lived in Indiana, one of us would travel to see the other one every single weekend. At the end of one weekend he came back to Indiana with me to work on the house he was getting ready to sell.
    The evening was chilly and calm, the rain was creating the most soothing sounds on the windshield and the sun was setting early as it does still in early spring. I fell asleep in the passenger seat near the end of our trip and as we were nearing the lake Nate woke me up and said, "I have a song for you."
    It had been a long, difficult summer/fall/winter for us and there I was ... coming home from a trip taken specifically to spend time with this man that I adored ... resting in the comforts of a beautiful song that was being played just for me ... still drifting in and out of my dreams. I watched the silhouettes of trees against the dusk while listening to the rhythm of the rain in the background and felt a tranquility that had been eluding me for months. It was just me and Nate and the rest of the world. I knew, then and there, that this was important. I knew I would cherish this memory for a long time to come.
    Six months later I walked down the aisle to a live version of this song, yet when I hear it today I am not reminded of my wedding. I am instead reminded of a cold, rainy evening that could have been like any other. But wasn't.
    I still consider those moments as one of the best four minutes of my life.
    Nate has a way with these things.

Recent Posts

Categories