September 29, 2011

  • Last night was fun. My father-in-law treated us ladies (mother-in-law, sisters-in-law, niece, brother-in-law's girlfriend and the mother-in-law of one of my sister-in-laws ... take your time with that last one. I know it hurts your brain a little.) to pedicures/manicures. I got the angry lady. I'm not sure what I did, but she was in a big hurry and pretty unhappy about something. I was skerred ... big, ol' nail file coming at me.
    The strangest thing happened to me this afternoon as I was driving out of Dekalb to come back to Winona Lake ... I felt sad. I felt homesick. I felt like I wanted to stay.
    WhaaWhat? I didn't expect that. BAM out of nowhere.
    Although I do love my Winona Lake and its small, lake town charm. And I do love the safety and the memories and the familiarity and the beauty .... I sometimes miss the privacy that other places have offered Nate and I. I'm not the world's most private person (as made evident by this blog), but I miss those days of just me and Nate (and then Mazie). I mean, we had church people and his family, but it was just us for the most part. I'm not sure why that has made such an impact on me.
    I want the best of both worlds. I want Winona Lake, but I want to be unknown and alone with my little family. Am I even making sense here?
    Nate is thinking of getting his doctorate and I'm not sure where that will take us. I'm both scared and excited.
    And why is it that the places we left behind always seem so much more appealing when we don't actually live there anymore? Remember when we lived in scaryvilletown Rockford? Whenever we think about that place we both let out an "Awwww ... those were fun days". But while we lived there we couldn't wait to get out. My mom told me it would be this way.
    Her and my dad lived several places while he was going through grad school, etc. and she said it was so difficult ... until they left and then all they remembered were the good times.
    I suppose that's what I'm doing. Only remembering the good.
    I am an optimist by nature.

    A picture for your viewing pleasure ...

    Great grandparents, grandparents and all the grandkids

Comments (1)

  • I absolutely understand what you are saying!  In past blogs on this xanga i've expressed the same dichotomy.  And, I'm a bit like you, as far as the optimism goes...always focusing on that thin silver lining...
    :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories